Leadership Staff

Scott L. Delp, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator
Professor of Bioengineering, Mechanical Engineering & Orthopaedic Surgery (by courtesy)
Stanford University

Jennifer L. Hicks, Ph.D.
Associate Director of the NCSRR
OpenSim R&D Manager
Stanford University

Ajay Seth, Ph.D.
Research Associate
OpenSim API Architect
Stanford University

Michael A. Sherman
Software Architecture Advisor
Stanford University

Ayman Habib, Ph.D.
OpenSim Application Architect
Stanford University

Joy Ku, Ph.D.
Director of Dissemination and Training
Stanford University

OpenSim Developers and Contributors

A large team of people has played a vital role in the development of the OpenSim software package over the years.

Current OpenSim Development Team

  • Scott Delp
  • Chris Dembia
  • Matt DeMers
  • Ayman Habib
  • Jennifer Hicks
  • Shrinidhi Kowshika Lakshmikanth
  • Carmichael Ong
  • Ajay Seth
  • Michael Sherman
  • Thomas Uchida


OpenSim Contributors and Past Developers

  • Frank Anderson
  • Allison Arnold
  • Edith Arnold
  • Cindy Au
  • Tim Dorn
  • Peter Eastman
  • Dominic Farris
  • Lorenzo Flores
  • Saryn Goldberg
  • Eran Guendelman
  • Sam Hamner
  • Katherine Holzbaur
  • Chand John
  • Cassidy Kelly
  • Marjolein van der Krogt
  • Glen Lichtwark
  • Jingjing Liu
  • May Liu
  • Peter Loan
  • Katie Lund
  • Matthew Millard
  • Paul Mitiguy
  • Apoorva Rajagopal
  • Jeffrey Reinbolt
  • Andreas Scholz
  • Ian Stavness
  • Katherine Steele
  • Darryl Thelen
  • Jack Wang
  • Kevin Xu



Scientific Advisors

NCSRR has a set of scientific advisors who act as liaisons and advise the center in regards to a given rehabilitation area.

Steven Collins, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Carnegie Mellon University
Area of Specialty:  Robotics

Julius Dewald, P.T., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Physical Therapy & Human Movement Sciences, Northwestern University
Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Physical Medicine and Rehab, Northwestern University
Area of Specialty:  Motor Recovery following Stroke

Reggie Edgerton, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor of Integrative Biology and Physiology, Neurobiology and Neurosurgery
Director of Neuromuscular Research Laboratory

University of California, Los Angeles
Area of Specialty:  Spinal Cord Injury

Michael Fredericson, M.D.
Associate Professor and Chief of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Stanford University
Area of Specialty:  Sports Injury

Nicholas Giori, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Orthopaedics, Stanford University
Medical Director of the Rehabilitation R&D Center, Palo Alto Veterans Affairs Health Care System
Area of Specialty:  Osteoarthritis

Jill Higginson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of the Center for Biomedical Engineering Research
University of Delaware
Area of Specialty:  Stroke Rehabilitation

Richard R. Neptune, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
University of Texas at Austin
Area of Specialty:  Prosthetics

Katherine Saul, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
North Carolina State University
Area of Specialty:  Upper Extremity

Michael Schwartz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, University of Minnesota
Director of Bioengineering Research,  Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare
Area of Specialty:  Rehabilitation for Children with Cerebral Palsy

Matthew Smuck, M.D.
Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, Stanford University
Chief, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Stanford University Medical Center
Area of Specialty:  Spine Disorders

Email Updates

to join our mailing list.

News & Announcements

Vote for OpenSim in the NIH Video Competition!

Apr 28, 2014

You can help us win the NIH Song and Video Competition. Just watch and Click Like for the OpenSim video. The deadline is May 9th. We are excited to be competing with this video in the NIH Common Fund Song and Video Competition. The top 4 or 5 videos with the most "Likes" on YouTube will be shown during the Common Fund 10-Year Commemoration Symposium this June. We'd also appreciate you sharing with other (including colleagues, friends, and family!).

Dynamic Walker Challenge Winners Announced

Apr 24, 2014

Thanks to all participants and congratulations to the winners of the Dynamic Walker Competition: Geena Doak, Matthew Handford, and Alex MacIntosh. They each created dynamic walkers to traverse a complex terrain in OpenSim. See their videos on the OpenSim YouTube page.

OpenSim-based Science Fair Project Wins First Place

Feb 26, 2014

Florida high school students Christopher Fregly and Brandon Kim took first place in the Physics and Astronomy category at the Alachua Regional Science Fair. Working with NASA, Fregly and Kim used the OpenSim software to predict simple ways that astronauts could modify the standard squat exercise to be more effective at maintaining muscle mass on the International Space Station. They will be going on to compete in the Florida State Science Fair in April and in the prestigious Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in May. Read more here

Apply for the 2014 Visiting Scholars Program

Dec 18, 2013

Applications for the NCSRR's Visiting Scholar program are now available.